What Does “Glory” Mean?

by Karl W/ A K

In my last post, I wrote about the question, how do we glorify YHWH? But perhaps a better

We always hear about giving glory to El Shaddai, but when it comes down to it, how do we do it?

question to ask before we ask that question is, what does “glory” mean?

From Webster’s 1828 Dictionary:

 Brightness; luster; splendor.

Praise ascribed in adoration; honor.

Glory to God in the highest. Luke 2.

The question would now become, how do we praise YHWH, except we have another question – how do we give praise in our daily lives?

Rebecca Miller – another good Christian blogger – writes about First Corinthians Ten in her response to Mike Duran’s post:

“Clearly the verse in question(I Cor. 10: 27 – 31)  is referring to a specific scenario. Paul’s conclusion, in essence, was this: Make your decision to eat or not eat, to drink or not drink, or whatever else, on what will glorify God.

The popular view of this verse, however, has become something like this: Christians are to glorify God in whatever we do. I’m a Christian, so whatever I do brings God glory.

As I see it, this latter interpretation doesn’t account for the context and actually makes the verse say something it doesn’t say.”

If you remember my last post, I told you that when I started to write it, I was listening to the band Boys Like Girls on Pandora, and a few of the songs involved some vulgar language. Instead of showing Jehovah praise with my music choice, I decided to listen to music that I enjoyed at the moment; in fact, I was giving glory to a secular band(however, I will attack the subject of music in another post, LORD willing).

If glory is praise or adoration, then our lives should praise YHWH, and reflect Him as the moon reflects the light of the sun. We don’t automatically reflect Him; we choose whether or not we do.

So, what’s your decision?

God Bless,

Pravda Veritas